• GBD videos on vimeo
  • subscribe : rss feed
  • Entry

    Profilux Stand Alone Dosing Pump Review to Come

    We received our 4-pump Profilux Standalone Dosing Pump unit this week, and will be reviewing the unit as I automize the Balling Light Method on the glassbox. At the moment I plan on individually dose the following components: Calcium, Alkalinity, Magnesium, and VSV. In the future the magnesium will be dropped as it is so […]

    profilux_doser_top

    We received our 4-pump Profilux Standalone Dosing Pump unit this week, and will be reviewing the unit as I automize the Balling Light Method on the glassbox. At the moment I plan on individually dose the following components: Calcium, Alkalinity, Magnesium, and VSV. In the future the magnesium will be dropped as it is so infrequently added and a hefty phytoplankton solution will take its place for Swiftia and Menella Gorgonians that are on the stocking list.

    There is also the chance VSV will be dropped in favor of NaCl free salt to utilize the Full Balling Method. If you’re confused on what the balling method is take a look at this article that describes the Full Balling, Balling Light and how they compare to traditional two-part: The Balling Method.

    profilux-doser-front

    The stand alone doser’s construction is top notch, and beyond what you traditionally get in technical aquarium components. We’re working on mounting the unit, and thankfully the pump heads can be rotated 180 degrees ¬†and are self priming for flexible installation.

    profilux_doser_side

    That’s all for now. If you have any specific questions, please leave them in the comments and will do our best to answer them and/or address them in the review article following.

    10 Comments

    1. pavlo
      April 30, 2009 at 7:16 AM | Permalink

      question: the ‘BALLING METHOD’ article states, “NaCl free salt is literally synthetic salt mix without NaCl.” with that said, wouldn’t this salt take the place of seachem which i believe you currently use? if so, why have salt water added to the glassbox via dosing? i would think the new salt would only be added through water changes!

    2. April 30, 2009 at 7:45 AM | Permalink

      @Pavlo, when calcium chloride and sodium carbonate are added to the water we do increase the calcium and alkalinity, but we also increase the sodium (Na) and Chloride (Cl) levels. With continued heavy use the Na & Cl build up can increase salinity and believed to skew the ionic balance.

      NaCl free salt helps correct this by adding additional elements to balance the NaCl additions from “two part”. Using a traditional salt mix would not address the problem of Na & Cl build up.

      HTH.

    3. Brandon
      April 30, 2009 at 8:29 AM | Permalink

      That is a sexy unit you have there. Keep us posted on your progress with the balling-light method.

    4. April 30, 2009 at 10:59 AM | Permalink

      I have it for 2-part system, but I am not satisfied the dosing rate.
      It looks you can change the dosing rate, but it does not. The dosing rate is fixed as 1ml/sec. I think this dosing rate is too fast for Sodium Hydrogen Carbonate(KH). I sometimes had a problem to stuck the tube.

    5. Jonathan P
      April 30, 2009 at 5:20 PM | Permalink

      Definitely think I plan to use one of these as a continuous water changer. With the computer programmer, that should be downright simple. Let it change out 10G a week slowly.

      This is a nice, nice piece of equipment. Plan on ordering mine in about 2 or 3 months.

    6. May 4, 2009 at 9:31 PM | Permalink

      @Taka, The pumps used on the Profilux are some of the best available, grotech, vario, and others all use the same motor / pump head. Have you considered watering down the solutions to reduce the rate at which the Alkalinity is being added to the aquarium?

      @Brandon, first up will be the Balling Light and then the Full Balling as well for those curious about the NaCl free salts.

    7. pavlo
      May 6, 2009 at 9:26 PM | Permalink

      where can this unit be purchased?…. couldn’t find it at any of the GBD sponsors!

    8. May 6, 2009 at 9:42 PM | Permalink

      @Pavlo, contact Aqua Digital (GHL / Profilux Distributor) directly, here is their phone # and contact form: http://www.aqua-digital.com/index.php?option=com_contact&view=contact&id=1

    9. phil
      May 7, 2009 at 9:18 PM | Permalink

      I have the doser connected to the profilux computer. I have been very satisfied with profilux equipment. I made the decision when setting up my current aquarium that I would use dosing rather than a calcium reactor. When you compare the cost of a nice calcium reactor setup to a profilux dosing setup it makes the price a little easier to swallow.

    10. May 8, 2009 at 10:06 PM | Permalink

      Hi
      if you are interested in the product please contact us at sales@aqua-digital.com or during office hours 9am to 6pm Monday to Friday on eastern time 613 424 1679

      We can answer all your questions and we look forward to this great review

    2 Trackbacks

    1. […] Profilux Standalone Doser review has been underway over the past couple weeks. Currently we are using the Standalone Doser to […]

    2. November 29, 2010 at 8:35 AM

      […] Marin’s new Dosing Pump. Yes this looks to be just rebranded, the original being the robust GHL Standalone Doser. What this really achieves, we’re not sure. GHL’s presence across the globe is arguably […]

    Post a Comment

    Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

    *
    *